## Halifax Waste-Resource Society

P.O. Box 213

Lakeside, NS

B3T 1M6

## HWRS (Virtual) 2020 Annual General Meeting Minutes

May 28,2020 at 6:30 p.m.

Members attending: Scott Guthrie -chair, Andrew Giles- Secretary Treasurer, Tom Robertson vice-chair, Frank Johnston, Maureen Yeadon, Raissa Musial, Peter Lund, and Reg Rankin.

Members absent but who had advised of their absence; namely, Murray Power and Ali Duale. All other members of record were duly notified of this meeting.

A Note on paid membership for the next following year 2020-21. All nine above listed attendees plus the two absent members paid their \$5.00 membership fee for a total of 11 paid memberships of \$55.00 collected.

1. Motion by Peter Lund seconded by Maureen Yeadon to approve the circulated agenda with three added agenda items to following item number 4, the 'Presentation of 2019-20 financial statements'; namely:

4.b) Resolution number one – as is proposed and its due notice provided 4.c) Resolution number two- as proposed and due notice provided; and 4.d) Renewal of Resolution for Bank Signing Officers for the Society.

Motion as amended carried.

2. Motion by Andrew Giles seconded by Frank Johnston to approve the minutes, as circulated, of the Annual General Meeting of April 25, 2019. Motion Carried

3. No Business arising from the minutes.

4. a) Andrew Giles, Secretary-Treasurer, presented the Society's 2019-2020 Financial Statements as was previously circulated. It was noted that there were no financial transactions during this year other than a deposit of \$70.00. representing the total 2019-20 membership fees collected. The bank balance as of March 31, 2020 was \$ 1,864.78

Motion by Andrew Giles seconded by Tom Robertson to accept the financial statements for 2019-2020. Motion Carried

4. b) Resolution number 1, as stated below, was moved by Andrew Giles seconded by Peter Lund; with reference to Clause 9 of the Society's By-Laws, to be amended with the inserted word as underlined : 'Each member shall renew his or her membership ...to the Annual General Meeting of the Society. Renewal of membership will be confirmed by <u>either the Society's Executive Director or from</u> the Secretary of the Society upon...'

Resolution carried.

4.c) Resolution number 2, as stated below, was moved by Maureen Yeadon seconded by Andrew Giles; with reference to Clause 13 of the Society's By-Laws, to be amended with the inserted words as underlined:
' Ten (10) days notice of a meeting ....shall be given to the members. Notice shall be given in writing by any electronic means including e-mail with the evidence of its receipt by the member or by sending it through the post in a prepaid letter

**Resolution carried** 

Page 2 of 2: Continuation of the Halifax Waste/Resource Society (Virtual) AGM for 2020

## Halifax Waste-Resource Society

P.O. Box 213

Lakeside, NS

B3T 1M6

4.c) Moved by Andrew Giles seconded by Tom Robertson that any two of the three following officers be approved for authorizing the signing of cheques on the Society's credit union account (#76831-10-1); namely the office holders for Chair, Treasurer and Executive Director; and in addition, any other banking business, including short or medium term guaranteed interest certificate.

Resolution carried.

5. The Chair gave an oral report on the past year identifying the highlights including the Society's ongoing vigilance to the contractual covenants with the HRM including its recent position conveyed to the Minister of NSE on the retention of the Otter Lake's Landfill Front End Processor and Waste Stabilization Facility.

- 6. Under nominations for election for the 9 Director positions of the Society for the 2020-21 term of office: Moved by Andrew Giles the nominations of all names of expiring Directors for 2019-20; that is namely :Scott Guthrie, Tom Robertson, Andrew Giles, Frank Johnston, Peter Lund ,Murray Power , Riassa Musial, Ali Duale and Maureen Yeadon.
  - With no other nominations as called for three times, nominations closed with all the above named acclaimed.

7. Under nominations for the Election of all four Society's officers; the Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer for the following year 2020-21 :

Moved by Tom Robertson seconded by Andrew Giles the nomination of Scott Guthrie for chair. With No further nominations after the 3<sup>rd</sup> call, Scott Guthrie was acclaimed as Chair.

Moved by Andrew Giles seconded by Raissa Musial for the nomination of Tom Robertson for Vice Chair. With no further nominations after the 3<sup>rd</sup> call, Tom Robertson was acclaimed as Vice Chair.

Moved by Raissa Musial seconded by Peter Lund for the nomination of Maureen Yeadon for Secretary. With no further nominations, Ms. Yeadon was acclaimed as the Secretary.

Motion by Tom Robertson seconded by Peter Lund the nomination of Andrew Giles for Treasurer. With no further nominations after the 3<sup>rd</sup> call Andrew Giles was acclaimed Secretary Treasurer.

8. Motion to adjourn by Raissa Musial. Carried