New Chair for the HWRS & CMC


Linda MacKay
Linda MacKay, Timberlea, the newly elected chair of the Halifax Waste Resource Society and Community Monitoring Committee.

Linda MacKay of Timberlea was elected the new chair of the Halifax Waste Resource Society, at a meeting of the Board of Directors, June 27, at The Links at Brunello.

A new member of the board, she succeeds Scott Guthrie who held the position for five years, before retiring from the role earlier this month.

The other members of the new executive elected at the meeting are Tom Robertson, Hubley, vice-chair; Peter Lund, Dartmouth, secretary; and Andrew Giles, also of Dartmouth, treasurer. They are all veteran members of the society’s board of directors and its executive.

The society’s executive team automatically hold mirror positions with the Community Monitoring Committee, which is the society’s subsidiary organization, a product of the 1999 agreement between Halifax Regional Municipality and the society designed to monitor activity at the Otter Lake Landfill facility for communities located within a five km. radius of the landfill. They include the Timberlea, Lakeside, Beechville, Prospect and Hubley area communities.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.